In a bid to accelerate agricultural development of the South-West Zone, six regional governors have adopted the South West Regional Integrated Commercial Agriculture Development Programme.

The adoption was made possible during a meeting held in Ado-Ekiti on Moday of all six governors of the South West states. They agreed to pursue the common goal under the Development Agenda for Western Nigeria (DAWN) Commission.

In a communiqué read by Gov. Ayodele Fayose, who hosted the govenors, he said the coming together was meant to foster unity and accelerate development in the region.

Fayose said that the south west states would strengthen their commitment in funding the DAWN Commission as a fundamental imperative.

Fayose also urged the governors to adopt a common strategy to curb the menace of herdsmen in the South-West so as to prevent the people of the zone from being consumed by hunger.

Furthermore, the governors also approved the constitution of a Regional Technical Working Group to tackle integrated infrastructure development on multi-modal transportation system to take care of highways, rail and water sectors.

They also agreed that Lagos State would champion a structured regional food exchange programme.